No sport represents the Australian summer quite like cricket. The game involves two teams of 11, one batting and one fielding. The fielding team bowl a ball to the batter who tries to hit it as far as they can to get runs. However, they can get out in a variety of ways and then a new batter takes over. Once all 11 batters are out, the teams swap and the fielding team bat and tries to get more runs than their opponents did.

There are many different formats of cricket from short quick games using softer balls and plastic stumps to traditional club cricket, as well as fast paced indoor cricket. You can even play in your backyard or down at the beach!


If you’re new to batting, concentrate on the basics. Concentrate on your stance and balance, grip your hands close together, keep your line of sight level, and lift the bat backwards as the first part of your swing.


  • Overall fitness
  • Teamwork and leadership
  • Hand-eye coordination
  • Make new friends


As a beginner wear sports clothes and shoes. Clubs will generally provide the required equipment, including bats, balls and pads. Bring a bottle of water.

Many clubs offer 'come and try' sessions using modified equipment (softer balls and plastic stumps) where no protective equipment is required.

Seasons / typical registration period

Cricket is a summer sport. Registrations commence in August and September. There may be opportunities to register for different competitions and programs throughout the summer.

Indoor cricket is played during the winter months with registrations in February and March.

Approximate participation costs

Registration for girls’ cricket leagues is approximately $100.

Levels of competition

Cricket is easily modified according to the skill level of the participants. Many participation programs and social cricket competitions are played with modified equipment (softer balls and plastic stumps), with harder balls and protective equipment introduced once skills have developed.

Girls can participate in all levels of cricket, from entry level programs to girls’ leagues, regional representation up to playing in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) and for Australia.

Cricket organisations

Cricket Australia – cricket for girls

Social media










Australia’s Women’s Cricket Team (the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars) will contest the Women’s Ashes against England in October and November 2017:

  • First ODI – AB Field, Brisbane – 22 October 2017
  • Second ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 26 October 2017
  • Third ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 29 October 2017
  • Test match (Day-Night) – North Sydney Oval – 9-12 November 2017
  • First T20 – North Sydney Oval – 17 November 2017
  • Second T20 – Manuka Oval, Canberra – 19 November 2017
  • Third T20 – Manuka Oval – 21 November 2017

Similar options

Baseball and softball.